Airfix Hawker Hurricane Mk. I – Progress Report 2.0

My progress report will be a weekly installment but I can change my mind. This is where I am at right now.

I had this question in the back of my mind. I have seen modelers on YouTube painting parts and then glueing them. Shouldn’t you be scraping painting parts before cementing?

I got my answer from Jeff, the Inch High Guy.

In general, yes. You get a much better bond that way. Lately I’ve been leaning more in the direction of gluing what ever I can together as early in the construction as possible and painting later, as long as it makes sense to do so.


On another note…

I went to my local hobby shop last Saturday, got some supplies and good advice as always. I also got the P-38.

I got this in the mail today.

Experience has been paying off. I don’t try to cement different parts at the same time anymore and I wait before the part is solidly glued before moving the next step.


I use quick setting cement to glue small parts like the yoke which came in two parts. Was it necessary for Airfix to split it in two?

Glueing parts B1 and B3 to the bottom wing instead of just clamping B3 did cause me problems later when glueing the seat.

I managed to squeeze in some of the parts but there was some misalignment.

The seat would not sit in properly.

I still have to learn to follow instructions. Next time I am going to skip a few steps by leaving out the .303 machine guns.

Leave a comment